The Southeast Women of Distinction Awards were presented to women who have made a continued impact on the community.  

“Our whole committee came together to pull off a great event and we're just we're really grateful that we are able to celebrate women from all over Southeast,” said Becky Cassidy chairperson of the Southeast Women of Distinction Awards.  

The awards focused on uplifting women in the community, and celebrating their accomplishments, leadership, and contribution within Estevan and the surrounding communities. 

Sasha Mantei Young Visonary Award Sasha Mantei was the recipient of the Young Visionary Award 

Mantei will receive a $2000 scholarship as the winner of this category. All other Young Visionary nominees will be awarded a $250. scholarship.  

Vi Day Innovative Leadership Award WinnerInnovative Leadership Award Winner Vi Day 

Estevan MLA Lori Carr was at the event and presented the Innovative Leadership Award. 

“You know, as I looked around the room today, there were a lot of women in this room that truly led me and helped me become who I am here today. So I just truly hope that the young leaders of today look around this room and know that we are here to support them and lift them up,” said Carr.  


Michelle Beaulieu Outstand Contribution to the Workplace Outstanding Contribution to the Workplace award went to Michelle Beaulieu.  

All three of Estevan's female city councillors offered opening remarks on the importance of female leadership in the community. 

"Work hard. Just try your best not to let other people's opinion of you, you know, take hold of what you're doing and just really focus on your goals and what you need to do for your community,” said Foord. 

Pam Gunnlaugsson Equity and Inclusion Award Winner The Equity and Inclusion Award went to Pam Gunnlugson.

“I just think this is a fantastic event to celebrate the women of our community, the women of the Southeast. We give so much back to our communities and it's really nice to see each and every woman that was nominated, those that won awards here today, all very deserving,”said Carr. 

Danniyale Woolsey Outstanding Contribution to the CommunityOutstanding Contribution to the Community went to Daniyale Woolsey  

“It's just such a strong group of people in our community and surrounding communities that are truly making our world a better place,” said Rebecca Foord.  

Gerti Lev was inducted into this year's Trailblazers Memorial Walk. 

“All of the nominees were absolutely outstanding with beautiful stories all contributing so much to our community in so many ways,” said Cassidy. 

She added that she was happy that choosing a winner was outsourced because it would have been a difficult decision to make. 

 "They all are so deserving. Everybody here is a winner,” said Cassidy.