Estevan city council agreed Monday night to the establishment of The Estevan Board of Police Commissioners, which will see members serve for two years.

The board has comprised members serving one-year terms.

The bylaw establishing the new board lengthens appointments "to ensure consistency and bring the required knowledge needed at the board level and enable the fall education schedule to be fully realized," according to a report from City Clerk Judy Pilloud to council read at the November 1 meeting.

The board consists of the mayor, two other members of city council, and two members at large in the community that are appointed by the council.

Mayor Roy Ludwig and Councillors Shelly Veroba and Lindsay Clark sit on the board with Bernadette Wright and Geoff Thiessen.