Premier Scott Moe shuffled his cabinet on Tuesday.

Moe says the mandate of the new cabinet is to build and protect Saskatchewan.

"To continue building a strong economy, strong communities, and strong families, and to protect all that we have built together from threats like federal intrusion and economic challenges like inflation."

Two members, Don Morgan and Dana Skoropad, who recently announced they won't be seeking re-election in 2024 are leaving the cabinet. 

Taking a seat at the cabinet table now is Moose Jaw North MLA Tim McLeod as Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors and Rural and Remote Health.  Prince Albert Carleton MLA Joe Hargrave re-enters cabinet as Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement. 

Six cabinet ministers take on new roles while nine ministers will retain their current responsibilities including Wood River MLA David Marit.

Marit continues in his role as the Minister of Agriculture and the Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation and also becomes Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency.

The Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association is pleased to see Minister Marit reappointed to the Agriculture portfolio.

They note Marit has served as Agriculture Minister through challenging times for the livestock sector.

Earlier this month, he announced support for producers in the province facing widespread drought. 

SCA Chair Keith Day says Minister Marit has been a  valuable partner and advocate for the beef industry here in Saskatchewan.

"We are happy to see Minister Marit remain in his role so we can continue working on ways to support our farmers and ranchers. We know that more work needs to be done, but we know he has been a huge part of the progress we’ve seen to date."

To see who takes on new responsibilities in Premier Scott Moe's new cabinet click here.