Federal Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz has announced proposed changes to the Canadian Wheat Board Act regarding voter eligibilty.

If the changes become law, only producers who produce 120 tonnes of grain over the past two years will be allowed to vote for board directors.


According to Jeff Nielson, the President of the Western Barley Growers Association, this is something producers have been asking for some time.