The province's cabinet will look a bit different after today as they're announcing a switch in positions.

Premier Scott Moe announced that this morning, saying the new positions reflect their mandate.

"The mandate of our new cabinet is to build and protect Saskatchewan - to continue building a strong economy, strong communities, and strong families, and to protect all that we have built together from threats like federal intrusion and economic challenges like inflation"

The six ministers changing positions are as follows:

  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and Minister responsible for all the major Crowns, including SaskPower, SaskEnergy, SaskTel, SGI, and SaskWater, as well as Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission.
  • Christine Tell becomes Minister of Environment.
  • Paul Merriman becomes Minister of Corrections, Policing, and Public Safety and the Minister responsible for the Firearms Secretariat.
  • Lori Carr becomes Minister of Highways.
  • Everett Hindley becomes Minister of Health.
  • Jeremy Cockrill becomes Minister of Education.

The remaining nine cabinet members will be keeping their current positions.

The overall size of the cabinet will remain unchanged at 18, including the Premier.  

Two former members of the cabinet who left earlier this month will not be seeking re-election in 2024 - Don Morgan and Dana Skoropad.  Morgan becomes Provincial Secretary.